keywing

keywing

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 161 posts
  • Locationlive in texas

Hi,

I've been wanting to play more brushes these days but I'm not sure which coated snare drum head would be

the best one to use for brush playing. Could some one advise me as to which brand might be a good choice?

Thank you,keywing 

CSR

CSR

Member since May 2000

• Platinum
  • 5,693 posts
  • Location- Snow Belt, New York State, USA, Earth
I play brushes a lot. I'd recommend a thinner head, like a Diplomat. The Aquarian Vintage series are good, too, but a little thick for me.

A trick I learned from the late Bruce Felter...take a little of the roughness off the head with 400 grit sandpaper used lightly in a circular pattern around the head before mounting. This keeps your wires from catching and allows for a smooth sweep.

I'm not a pro per se, but I do play 100-150 rehearsals and gigs a year with a variety of big bands, jazz combos, Dixie bands, brass ensembles, concert bands, and orchestras.

Edited by CSR, 23 July 2016 - 05:57 AM.

speady1

speady1

• Gold
  • 470 posts
  • LocationGeorgetown, KY

Thinner heads are good.  I use Evans (coated G1 or coated J1), as I feel that the coating holds up longer than other brands.  Also, a pro tip I got years ago is to loosen your snares wires for more response with the brushes.  It helps a lot.

CSR

CSR

Member since May 2000

• Platinum
  • 5,693 posts
  • Location- Snow Belt, New York State, USA, Earth
Many brush players prefer to play with snares off, but I like the snare sound. Try both.

JDA

JDA

Drummer Excelsior

• Members
  • 8,567 posts
  • LocationJeannette, Pa.

Use the one's  Art Blakey Philly Joe Jones and Elvin Jones used at various times Can't go wrong ..

JoePasko2002

JoePasko2002

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 571 posts
  • LocationAlbany NY

Many brush players prefer to play with snares off, but I like the snare sound. Try both.