Photo

What electronic drum set would you recommend for a beginner?

- - - - - drums electronic drums digital drums beginner drums set cheap drum set

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Drum_Guy

Drum_Guy

• Members
  • 6 posts
  • LocationUSA

I am looking into buying the electronic drum set but nothing too fancy.

I need something that is budget friendly but I am not sure which is the best brand or model. 

The rubber pads are fine, I am looking for something that will be great for practice in my small apartment. 

I am not a professional drummer and probably never will be, I love drumming but I do it as a hoby with my friends who have their studio where I had a chance to play on acoustic drums. And now I would like to have my own drums but I am going with electronic ones because they are smaller, cheaper and sound friendly because I can use headphones or I will be kicked out of my apartment :D 

I googled and checked on youtube and what not but can't seem to decide.. 

Alesis, cheap Roland or cheap Yamaha choices.. So many of them.

Was there any particular drum set you got when you were a beginner or any set that is cheap and you would actually recommend it?

THANK YOU!! :)

drummergirlclothing

drummergirlclothing

• Members
  • 9 posts
  • Locationjacksonville, Fl
Roland td-4. I would suggest looking around on Craigslist.

drumaniac

drumaniac

Drummer Excelsior

• Members
  • 9,244 posts
  • LocationCanada
Yamaha DTXplorer been seeing them used lately under $300 Canadian

kaosotis

kaosotis

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts

The lower end Yamaha and Roland stuff is pretty similar, so you really just have see what you like and what's out there.

If you are looking for cheap, as in around $500 get a used Roland or Yamaha kit.  As mentioned, Roland TD4 kit is a good starting point, but might be more than $500.  TD6's are out there for that money.  Same with Yamaha 500 series.