• Please log in to reply
61 replies to this topic

Tommy D

Tommy D

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 789 posts
  • LocationChicago, IL, USA

So I have been trying to play the kit with traditional grip for the past few months.  I don't play every day, maybe only a night or two a week for about an hour.  So I'm still fairly new at traditional grip on the kit.  Anyway, I'm finding a couple frustrations about playing with this stick technique that I would like to talk with you about.

1) How do you position your hi-hat so the butt end of the stick doesn't hit it while trying to play on the rack tom?  

This is crazy annoying to me.  I have lowered the hi hat to a point where it is still comfortable, but is still lower than I would play with matched grip.  Even with the lowered hi hat, the butt end of my left hand stick keeps whacking in to the hi hat when I transition to any tom playing/fills on the rack tom.  I feel like I have to abnormally raise my left elbow to position the stick in a location where the hi hat does not interfere.  What do you guys do about this?

2) Other than getting a stronger, more secure, grip with my left hand how do you get nice solid feeling hits on the rack tom without tilting the tom at such an awkward angle towards the ride cymbal?  

I feel like the natural position and playing style of this grip requires that the drums be abnormally tilted to accommodate a proper striking angle for the left hand.  I already have my snare at a crazy tilted angle, but it feels totally normal with this grip.  My rack tom is already at an angle that tilts it a bit towards the ride, but the stick still never hits nice and solidly with the meaty part of the stick tip.  This could be partially a problem related to the first issue above, but should I tilt the drum even more extremely to the right to get a nice solid hit or is it just a technique thing?

Attached Files

Edited by Tommy D, 17 February 2017 - 01:37 PM.

Slingerland3ply

Slingerland3ply