• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

Tilter

Tilter

Forum Guru

• Gold
  • 1,302 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire

I've been watching a bunch of Josh Dion / Paris Monster footage over the last few weeks and I find myself really wanting a DSI Mopho to compose backing tracks with. I love the sounds that it produces and the compact size would work well in my drum room. I have zero background with keys but feel like I could be creative with it. 

Does anyone own and play a Mopho or a similar analog synth? I'm curious about basic amp and recording set ups.

jmpd_utoronto

jmpd_utoronto

Advanced Snr. Member

• Platinum
  • 670 posts
  • LocationToronto, Ontario, Canada

I'm not familiar with the particular synth you're talking about, but I had the chance to spend a couple of weeks with a Yamaha Reface CS analog synth.  Compact but can do lots of cool stuff, and the price is very reasonable.  I'm not nearly enough into that world to know how it stacks up to others, but I've heard from people much more knowledgeable than I that it is a great product for (relatively) little money.

Alan_

Alan_

• Members
  • 494 posts
  • LocationAustin

I have my old trusty MemoryMoog and a Roland JX-3P. Both cool in their own right. Everything else I have is either digital or software-based. The cool thing about the Roland is that it will send and receive MIDI. One of the first keyboards ever made that came with MIDI ports...

Tilter

Tilter

Forum Guru

• Gold
  • 1,302 posts
  • LocationNew Hampshire

Thanks for the input, gents. Continuing to look around... I think I'm opening a big 'ol can of worms.  :help:  :laughing5:

exwag

exwag

• Members
  • 7 posts
  • LocationUnited States

I'll put a word in for 2 modern analog synths I had and enjoyed. Moog Little Phatty Stage II and Korg Minilogue. The Minilogue in particular has incredible features for under $500 and makes a great intro to analog synths. 

apcpa2000

apcpa2000

Advanced Snr. Member

• Gold
  • 539 posts