8 replies to this topic

1Dinosaur

1Dinosaur

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 10 posts
  • LocationNorway

Hello everyone!

First post here. I registered with Vintage Drum Forum and asked the same thing over there, but almost no response, so I'm hoping this place is livelier!

I'm just getting into the vintage drum thing, and though I've always had a soft spot for them old Gretch drums, now is the first time I'll probably get my hands on some. Just wanted to check with you guys about the estimated value, so I don't get ripped off. 

The drums are a set of Gretsch round badges in midnight blue pearl. Not sure about the exact production year, but 60's (exact year can be found when I get my hands on the serials right?). Sizes 22-13-16. Good condition, original parts. No extra holes or modifications. Stickers, badges and mufflers all in great shape. Only "drawback" is a loose wrap seam on the 13". Not buying from the first owner.

What do you think price wise?

The problem is I have to buy them without seeing them personally, which is a risk for sure, but it's just not possible for me. Someone else is doing it, and I'm sending them instructions to what to check for: making sure the shells are round and bearing edges intact (which the seller confirmed they were), hardware okay etc. Anything else I should think about?

I've read a lot about the drums, and a bit concerned about choking of the toms. I'm mainly playing rock, although I'm not that heavy a hitter. Any input?

Cheers.

Attached Files

Edited by 1Dinosaur, 11 July 2017 - 01:27 AM.

charlesm

charlesm

Forum Guru

• Members
  • 1,236 posts
  • LocationNY-metro

Welcome! And beautiful kit you have there.

I have the same kit in 20-12-14 and love it. The toms are stop-sign badge but essentially the same shells.

The loose wrap is no problem. Easily re-glued/fixed.

Based on the condition of your kit and the sizes, I would say the $1400-$1700 ballpark would be the expected value.