- - - - - Latency / Response time.

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

Cableaddict

Cableaddict

• Members
  • 9 posts
  • LocationSuffern, NY

I own a pro studio, and use a partially-electronic drumkit.  -  Just two kicks, four toms, a pole pad, and an auxilliary snare drum.   I have been using a DDrum2 brain since 2003.  

I'd like to upgrade to better & cleaner sounds, but I'm very worried about trigger time.

note:  The term "latency" is often used for this,  and I guess we could here, but that sometimes leads to discussions of computer throughput, and that is NOT my concern at all.  Please bear this in mind

I am JUST concerned (right now) with how fast audio comes out of the module, after the pad is hit.

This is because, even if I later replace the sounds, I want the absolute fastest response for the drummer & band while they are recording.

In 2003, I had tried a top-end Roland Pro kit, but the response time was absurdly bad.  IIRC, the kick was around 15 ms!   I therefore bought a used DDrum2.  It has worked great with HART Pro pads. Less than 2 ms for every pad.

So, as I said above,  I'd like to upgrade,  but only if I don't get more than maybe 4-5ms maximum.  

I don't really need bells & whistles, so I'm considering an old DDrum3 brain.  However, I'm reading pretty positive things about the newest modules from Roland & Yammy.   Still, I can't seem to find hard, verifiable data on exact trigger times, anywhere.  I'm kind of amazed about this.

I also love that these modules (if I am reading correctly) can pass all of the stick data to a computer via USB,  which means (again, if I am understanding correctly) that I would no longer need preamps and audio interface channels for each pad.   That would be lovely !

---------------

SO: