• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

Drum Play

Drum Play

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 768 posts
  • Locationatlanta

Ok, I'm a nobody drummer looking to get into doing session work. What's an ideal and realistic hourly rate? I don't want to ask too much , but I also don't want to sell myself too cheap.

jaymandude

jaymandude

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 795 posts
  • Locationouter limits

Ok, I'll bite and offer up some thoughts and ideas...

I'm a nobody drummer as well, who has a a few decent gigs and can play with a click. ( that took a while to figure out :icon_smile:

From what I can tell, practically everywhere I went in the USA over the part 10 years, 100 bucks a tune was kind of standard for unsigned sessions for an artist paying out of his or her pocket. If they had a "record deal"

( HA!!!)  or a financier maybe it paid more, but in that case they often went with bigger name guys.   That was kind of the starting point.  If it took you one hour or three for the one song, you still got 100. 

Then it got the the point where I ( or guys like me) said we wanted a day rate, say an 8 hour block.  If the artist works on one or 2 songs, spending 4 hours tweaking, trying different arrangements, different drumss maybe, or gets 6 songs by moving quickly and having their s*** together, I get the same money.  This is a more acceptable approach for a free lance full time musician, but let me say you should be able to get the job done.  Have some ideas, be flexable, be able to punch in and out.   Be able to tune on the fly to get a good sound.   Be consistent.  You are approaching profession money and situations and people will expect that, and will talk to other folks about whether you were " worth it"