Photo

Expensive Cymbals Have as Much Impact on Your Playing as Air Jordan Shoes Affect Your Chances of Joining the NBA

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
43 replies to this topic

bigbonzo

bigbonzo

DFO Potentate

• Members
  • 4,858 posts
  • LocationNorth Coast of Ohio

Cymbals are or are not over-rated?

A great player can or cannot make even budget-line cymbals sound great?

DIscuss?

swarfrat

swarfrat

Former Member

• Members
  • 4,172 posts

I have a splash cymbal that could be a nice discus.

Edited by swarfrat, 24 October 2017 - 10:06 AM.

Mongrel

Mongrel

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 655 posts
  • LocationSouth Jersey, USA
"Some" inexpensive cymbals are capable of being very musical. A mature player will be able to take those cymbals further than a lessor player. Some cymbals are just "cheap" and no amount of experience will make them musical....ever.

A good set of quality cymbals will go a long way towards improving the oversll sound of ANY player at ANY level. But a cheap set of cymbals will make any player sound like....well... I think we all know the answer to that one... Lol

Redbeard77

Redbeard77

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 675 posts
  • LocationLouisiana

You can make cheap drums sound better with heads/tuning/muffling, etc. but cymbals sound pretty much how they sound,

drummaman1

drummaman1

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 758 posts
  • LocationRochester, NY

You can make cheap drums sound better with heads/tuning/muffling, etc. but cymbals sound pretty much how they sound,

Agreed, but I should mention the level of craftsmanship/quality of less expensive lines of cymbals is many times better today (2010's) than the amateur/semi-pro stuff offered 20-30 years ago.

crash

crash

DFO Potentate

• Members
  • 3,186 posts
  • LocationSan Luis Obispo,Ca