• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

JRF

JRF

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • LocationNorway
I've been asked by an artist to join him in a duo project to play live. He will play the guitar and sing but he wants me to bring a small kick, a snare and a cymbal and possibly a drummodule like the DTXM12 or SPD-SX. He needs me to play simple bass on some songs and spice it up with percussion on other songs.

I have no previous experience with either drummodules mentioned above but know my way around computers and such. Is it possible to play basslines live with this setup? Is it possible to program/record bass and/or perctracks and run it off these modules and play drums on top?

Any advice on how to go about setting this up the easiest and best way would be highly appreciated.

Sinclair

Sinclair

Advanced Snr. Member

• Members
  • 548 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles

Some questions first. Is this a friend of yours? Sounds like you'd be doing the work of two guys. Does he have a budget?

Is this for a tour, a few club gigs or just messing around? 

JRF

JRF

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 60 posts
  • LocationNorway
He is one of my best friends who is doing very well in his career. The pay would be good since these gigs would be corporate event gigs. This set-up would be for those kind of gigs and doing it well and right would most probably lead to more work.

I had planned to invest in a DTXM12 or the SPD anyways down the line but need to know if those are tools that could be used in the context mentioned above...

jazzerone

jazzerone

• Members
  • 416 posts
  • LocationNew Mexico