12 replies to this topic

jahfester

jahfester

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
I recently inherited my dad's 1969 Ludwig acrolite snare and I want to do it right. I'm looking for a warm, fat tone but I'm pretty inexperienced at tuning drums/replacing snare wires/tightening snare wires. I'm only 21 and, up to this point in my life, have never had to deal with this type of thing before (hard to believe since i've been playing drums for 12 years!). I would always use my buddy's set of Ludwig vistalites and all his stuff sounded great so I never bothered screwing around with it. It was not until I bought/inherited my own set of drums that I began to realize that I was incredibly inexperienced at tuning and taking apart drums! From what I gathered around the forum, Remo Ambassador heads are the way to go for replicating the vintage sound. Is this the right idea for an acrolite snare? Also, what type of snare wires are typically used? The ones on right now are attached by bits of thread and I'm not sure how tight they should be or how to go about tightening them if they need tightening. any advice is welcome!

Thanks,

Joe

Crud

Crud

Associate in Charge of Somthing

• Members
  • 1,430 posts
  • LocationSacramento, CA
Hi Joe, Here is a link I found on the Remo website. Maybe this will help you get started. Tuning Tips by John Riley

I've never owned an acrolite. So maybe someone else here can help you out with some more specifics.

Good luck, Mike

jahfester

jahfester

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 114 posts
  • LocationPittsburgh, PA
Thanks for the link, Mike. I'll check it out.

Joe

biggator

biggator

Percussionist Maximus

• Members
  • 6,773 posts
  • LocationAtlanta, GA