Drum Synthesizers?

Discussion in 'Electronic Drum Zone' started by Iristone, Aug 10, 2018.

  1. Iristone

    Iristone Member

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Hi there,
    Has anyone here heard of a modern drum synthesizer module that can be triggered with pads/MIDI (in the style of Simmons SDS, NOT Roland TR-808/909)? If so, how's your experience with it been?
    I've heard of Nord Drum 2 and Akai Timbre Wolf, but am interested in some more (if possible) options.
    Thank you!
    Iristone
     
  2. Iristone

    Iristone Member

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Sorry for the double post. Please help me delete one of them. :-(
     
  3. electrodrummer

    electrodrummer New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    London
    Any drum module (with MIDI IN!)...

    Depends what you mean by drum synthesizer.
     
  4. Iristone

    Iristone Member

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    electrodrummer,
    Thank you for pointing out!
    To be exact, I mean 'synthesizer' as opposed to 'sampler', with which I can fine tune the sound down to oscillators and filters (say attack, body, and noise), and get some cool SDS-V-like sound.
    Iristone
     
  5. electrodrummer

    electrodrummer New Member

    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2016
    Location:
    London
  6. Iristone

    Iristone Member

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Thank you for your suggestion. Unfortunately, it might be a bit out of reach for me. I might check out a Drumbrute though.
    Not a big deal on triggers - I have an old TD-9 set that could do the job.
    Iristone
     
  7. Iristone

    Iristone Member

    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    After a bit of tweaking I suppose my SPD-30 would be good to go for gigs. In the studio I could use Ultrabeat in Logic Pro X.
    Iristone
     

Share This Page