Is this normal? Sore, bruised left forearm..

Discussion in 'The Teachers Lounge' started by Tacovine, Nov 6, 2018.

1. Tacovine

Tacovine Member

Hi all.. I'm new to drumming...I'm a guitar player that got handed a kit, set it up and am having a go at it, finding it pretty addictive... Anyway, was practicing for a week or so and noticed my left forearm getting sore on the under (non-hairy) side which didn't surprise me because I drum traditional grip because that is how I learned in grade school and that is clearly not a motion I'm used to doing every day.. What does surprise me is that side of the forearm is now really bruised in two spots.. one pretty much under the widest part of my forearm and other about half way between the elbow and the wrist. Is this normal or something off with my technique? Since I noticed I'm been mainly practicing matched hand but am obviously not as good with the left this way. Should I keep working on matched or just give it time and go back to traditional. Thanks..

2. Stickclick

Stickclick Well-Known Member

I think that you are stressing yourself too much too fast.

3. hardbat

hardbat Very well Known Member

I don't know the cause, but it does NOT sound normal.

When I was young, on into my 40s, I never had any sort of injury or soreness from drumming. Then I quit for 8 years. Since I started again, I now do feel some slight effects in my wrists and ankles after playing a long set. But nothing like you describe. I have also heard of some marching drummers getting repetitive motion injury if they were using kevlar heads, but not on mylar heads.

Each impact of the stick on a drum/cymbal transmits a shock through the stick and into your hand/arm. Proper grip and technique with respect to rebound should mitigate that to a degree. Perhaps you are gripping the sticks too tight?

4. Tacovine

Tacovine Member