PDP Concept Classic Review

Discussion in 'General' started by Mcjnic, Dec 6, 2018 at 4:14 AM.

1. Mcjnic

Mcjnic Very well Known Member

PDP Concept Classic Review

I had been playing a cool old Premier Resonator kit in this spot and decided to make a change. The Premier Kit has been sold and shipped ... something had to replace it. I had originally set up to put a Gretsch Kit there, but some things changed and that one was sold out from under me. I rolled with it and picked up this kit.

I honestly didn’t know what to expect when these arrived. I have been playing vintage kits for quite a few years and haven’t really picked up a lower line new kit in ages. But I wanted an old school wood hoop kit and I didn’t want to pay boutique prices ... hard to justify the expense as I had just purchased a Noble & Cooley Horizon kit. I figured I’d give this one a chance. Boy am I glad I did.

Well ... first and foremost, it’s a simple old school kit. The non-gloss flat rub finish is perfect for the older vibe going on with this kit. The darker stained wood hoops have a contrast that just fits the lighter colored natural shells.

Immediately replaced the stock trash heads. Noble & Cooley had sent me a full set of Evans ... don’t really like Evans, but they were free ... so why not.

They worked great on this kit.

The lugs ... ... ... in a word ... ick.

They are fairly unattractive. They are bulky. They are chromed and the design pattern leaves them not at all smooth.

Not a fan.