Play along for learning vibes?

Discussion in 'Your "OTHER" instrument' started by wolfereeno, Jan 22, 2018.

1. wolfereeno

wolfereeno Well-Known Member

I'm interested in learning to play basic scales and play along with simple Jazz formats. I was thinking something like Band in the Box might be useful for playing say, Blues, in various keys and tempos.

I'm an experienced drummer but don't play piano or read staff very well. But I've been messing around on vibes lately and having fun basically going by instinct. Eventually I think I need to find a teacher and take some basic lessons. But I'm just looking to play along for now and am curious about what horn players and such play along with.

Thx

2. kb

kb Very well Known Member

Jamey Aebersold has tons of play along recordings available.

You can make your own in GarageBand.

Band in a Box would work.

iReal Pro fake book plays back, in any key, any tempo....

Good luck.

3. JoePasko2002

JoePasko2002 Very well Known Member

Do you have a friend who plays guitar ? Playing arpeggios, scale lines, melodies, etc. along with someone playing out the chord progressions, in a live interaction, can provide good ear training and understanding how the notes fit in.

4. dcdrummer41

dcdrummer41 Member

Agreed.

5. mtarrani

mtarrani DFO Master

6. Seb77

Seb77 Very well Known Member

Try the Aebersold catalog. Has been around for age. There is a nice collection of simpler tunes called "Maiden Voyage"; I practiced along wiht that quite a bit.

I do recommend a teacher, especially if you're not versed in piano. Some pianists switch to vibes easily without a teacher, but not drummers in my experience. Even beside music theory, there's alot you can get form a vibes teacher, namely tone production, pedalling/muting, not to mention 4-mallet chord playing.

7. wolfereeno

Thanks guys!!!

8. multijd

multijd Very well Known Member

9. wolfereeno

I am loving iRealPro. Exactly what I'm after. Thx!!