18" Bass Drum: I have some questions

Old Dog

Reaction score
First off I'll say, I am not a gigging musician. I'm not looking for a specific sound. But, I have potential to join a band at some point in the near future, if only for fun (GENERALLY Rock Music) . I want something that has a small footprint, but I don't want to completely lose the bass's bottom end. Yes, I've watched a few videos on 18s. To be honest, they sound small and meek. Especially in side by side comparisons (there is a vid where they do 18, 20, 22, 24 basically).

I'm also doing a 16" FT to Bass drum conversion, MAYBE. If I get a kit with an 18" bass, do I really want to convert the 16" to a bass drum as well?

My other concern is my back. I have back problems and another big arse bass drum just sounds, eh. I have 2 22s now. Yes, I'm also considering 20" options.

More than anything, if you have an 18" bass drum set up, what do you think of it? Do you jam with others and does it hold up volume-wise? I know, mic it, lol.

When it comes down to it, I'm getting another kit. I'm trying to NOT be impulsive NOR cheap.

As far as what I'm considering, I'm mostly looking at Gretsch Catalinas with 18s and 20s. Some with snares, some without. Also, Yammie Stage Customs. I've seen far, FAR TOO many posts saying, "just get the stage custom and be done with it". But, there are a lot of other kits to look at, Mapex Ms, Ludwig Accents (these are entry level aren't they??).

So yeah, I have no idea what direction I'm headed.

Neal Pert

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
What's your budget? I mean, i would definitely say, "just get the stage custom and be done with it," but it may make more sense to get something like a DW Frequent Flyer kit.