18" Bass Drum - Wide Open

marc3k

Reaction score
Hi there

I finally dared to tune my Broadkaster bop kit higher (Bass drum F, Floor tom C, Rack Tom F, Snare G).
The biggest difference to me is the bass drum - I have a coated ambassdor as batter and a fibreskin ambassador as reso head, unported. The sound has a quite long sustain, but it's definitely more in line with the rest of the kit! I played today with piano and bass and I thought it sounded ok from my perspective - but I'm waiting for the recording.

I was wondering who is actually using a wide open bass drum in an acoustic setting? Have you ever felt that it takes up too much sonic space?

Thanks in advance!

dingaling

Reaction score
Joey Baron typically tunes his bass wide open. You can hear it on his live records.

Seb77

DFO Master
Reaction score
Joey Baron typically tunes his bass wide open. You can hear it on his live records.
He uses (used to use?) very loose tension/low tuning.

As far as high, open tuning goes, it's an acquired taste, but it works if you play it right (see Tony, Elvin, later Bill Stewart etc.). Feathering, if you do it at all, needs to be soft enough; accents can be open, but also consider playing some of them muffled (deadsticking/burying the beater).

multijd

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I use 18” and 16” wide open. Although I always carry a couple of micro fiber clothes and a large binder clip so I can clip a cloth to the rim and let it hang down touching the head lightly. That is usually all I need.