4 Months Since Switching to Open Handed Playing.

Nacci

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I started drumming at 15 and am 46 so over 30 years behind a kit. I'm self taught and have always been a right hand lead, cross over drummer. About four months ago, after watching a Mahavishnu video from 1972 I decided I wanted to learn to play open handed. Not easy but I have been doing my best to stick with it. Here is my progress so far.

NDdrummer13

Reaction score
Thank you. The urge to switch back to what is comfortable and I am proficient at is strong.
If you enjoy the open handed playing keep it up. Sounds better than I would sound and I am in the exact same boat with Time playing overall.

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
Time signature?

why not try just some straight 8th note and 2 & 4.
In-time.

don't force;
just do..

Bass on 1 & 3 ..
Simple, easy. (on yourself) Simple.

you are going to play the same beats you play right handed. Tell your mind that..
and execute it by- with your ears. (your inner drum ear)..

keep in mind you can play (could before) eighth notes (alone) with your left hand you can play 16th notes with your left hand you can play a swing and a shuffle rhythm with your left hand----all before you began this your journey. You are just moving the hand(s) to different source sound source(s). The rhythms your hands knew before, they still know , you are just rearranging and on the set placing them differently.

Lh eighth notes hihat , 2 & 4 rh..snare
bass 1 & 3

Same beat (as you must have) played before.
this time, Different hands Driving.

(it's mental mental adjustment connection Just say you will to yourself.
easy simple beat.
reversed, driving now on the other side of the road..

Time....you're keeping time..
left hand's driving..

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Take Page 1 of Stick Control. near each exercise is a mirror of the one above it...
Apply as: L on hi hat R on snare
Practice.
move your bass drum and hi hat Along in simple even Time.