70's Ludwig RWB kit

blikum

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
So there's this kit I have my eye on, but I'm not sure of the value and I don't want to over pay. It's a 70's Ludwig kit 12, 13, 16, 22 with Red, white and blue sparkle wrap. I've always wanted one of these kits and this one is in ok shape for the age. I've not seen it in person but I have seen the pics. Some light pitting on the chrome and some scratching on the wrap and a minor ding, interiors look good and far as I can tell, nothing too terrible. The guy is asking 2k for it. This seems a little high to me, but I'm not an expert on vintage. I'll post a few pics, please let me know what you think a fair price would be. Thanks!

thumbnail-1.jpeg
thumbnail-2.jpeg
thumbnail-3.jpeg
thumbnail-4.jpeg
thumbnail-5.jpeg
thumbnail-6.jpeg
thumbnail-7.jpeg
thumbnail-8.jpeg
thumbnail-9.jpeg
thumbnail-10.jpeg

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Master
Reaction score
I agree - $1K is a good starting point. I'd treat them as any other old average shape Ludwig kit ($7-800) and maybe $200 for the "rare" colors.....

Inside of the tom looks natural, but does the FT have mahogany???

TheElectricCompany

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
The red, white and blue doesn't add much value when it's in that poor of condition. I would offer $1,000 and tell him the drums are beat to hell, therefore you're cutting his price in half. He's going to reject your offer or counter. Do not start bargaining. Let him sit on your offer and decide how long he wants to hold on to them, because no one will bite at his asking price unless they're desperate and have more money than sense.

He might eventually tell you he'll take $1k, and that's when you tell him the offer is now $750, and do not go above $850.

$2,000? What a jerk.

blikum

Very well Known Member
Reaction score