80's Premier Elite information and general opinions

Spiros

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in drums.
I just bought a Premier Elite 80's model, 22" bass drum, 14" snare and 13",14",15" toms, plus 18" medium thin Zildjian crash, for about $500 (files attached). No Hi-Hat yet.
Since I am a beginner I cannot judge and I have no idea about its value.
Does anyone have an opinion on my purchase and could you please give me any advise on cleaning the whole set from the rust and particulary the snare if it is possible?

Thank you
Spiros

Attachments

vintagedrummersweden

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
They are late 70's or early 80's drums.
Value is hard to say but as I understand Premier are valued low in the US, ad they are here in Europe. It's a pity because they are top notch drums with a big, smooth and powerful sound, IMO.
The drums are very good, thin birch shells and good sturdy hardware.
The concert toms, without the resonant heads, has standard pressed rims - the double headed toms had die cast rims which would increase the value - both the double heads and the rims.

But with new heads it will sound great!

More info here: www.drumarchive.com

JDA

DFO Star
Reaction score
and here
here
and here
and here

mgdrummer

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
The snare is a model 36, basically Premier’s version of a Ludwig 402. The chrome plating on it is pitted, you’d have to have a plating shop strip & replate it if you truly wanted to restore it.

Jackal Jack

Reaction score
It's a good quality kit for sure. Elite series was one of their top-line models. Be worth more with double-headed toms though.

In terms of getting rid of the rust, and general tidy-up - there's several methods right here on this forum in the `builders workshop' posts and elsewhere.
I'd recommend stripping the whole kit down - remove everything from the shells.
One cost-effective method is - after everything is off the kit: