A Custom

Elvis

The King of Rock'n'Roll
Reaction score
Never really explored those. I have a crash. Its nice. What about the rest?

fun2drum

Team DFO
Staff member
Reaction score
Elvis, I'm relatively new to them too. I got my first A Customs a couple of years ago and they've become my go to crashes and hats. Here's what I think about them:

My crashes are A Custom 15" and 17". I've thought I might want to eventually get a larger one too, but so far I haven't noticed a need for it. I've always liked something responsive and bright (maybe more so now that my hearing isn't what it used to be), and these give me a good consistant bright crash with both light and hard hits. These are about the best crashes I've found at doing those things. They're about the same feel as A's but more responsive and they've got a glorious and easily-controlled swell when you want it.

My hats are 14" A Custom Mastersounds. I've tried and sold some 15's a couple of years ago and I'm one of the apparent few people who don't care for that size hats. My 14's are just right. They give a good contrast to the low end and they cut through the guitar, easy to play tight or sloshy, never any suction issues - just easy, bright, and loud. Love the things.

I still use a 20" A for my ride, and I doubt I'll ever change that.

hector48

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I like the A custom crashes a lot. Never got along with the hi-hats. They seem to get lost in the mix. The only ride I like is the A Custom Ping. My favorite Z hi-hats are K Custom and Zildjian Mastersound. What I liked most about the A customs when they first came out is that they have a smoother finish and are much easier to clean than traditional deep grooved Zildjians. However, they do show fingerprints very easily. Sound-wise, crashes are typically a little thinner and don't have so many goofy overtones. That said, my favorite cymbals today are Zildjian Ks and Paiste Signatures.

drumstuff66

Reaction score