A question about apple wood...

jaisonwhitekar

Reaction score
Hey all, newbie here. I happen to work at an apple orchard and we just removed 37 trees. My boss is a drummer too, so I would love to figure out how to use some of his old wood and use it to make a stave snare drum for him, as well as one for me. Apple wood is super hard and I'll bet that thing would sound like a cannon! Is there a sure way to make sure the log I take dries properly so I can eventually cut staves out of it?UC browser SHAREit MX player

Last edited:

JazzDrumGuy

DFO Star
Reaction score
They don't make good snares because the factory can only make an apple (snare) a day.....
Fuji-t about it. Ask Granny Smith. If you make one for me, I will throw you a gala.
You aren't in Hawaii working at a pine-apple farm, are you?

There actually is such thing as a "Jazz" apple variety....now that's what I'm talking about!

squidart

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
They don't make good snares because the factory can only make an apple (snare) a day.....
Fuji-t about it. Ask Granny Smith. If you make one for me, I will throw you a gala.
You aren't in Hawaii working at a pine-apple farm, are you?

There actually is such thing as a "Jazz" apple variety....now that's what I'm talking about!
No matter how you slice it there's something a-peel-ing about this rant. But seedy as it may be, this one post won't spoil the whole bunch. My girlfriend read it and she was be-cider self.

lossforgain

Team DFO
Staff member
Reaction score
I am always intrigued by drums made of woods that one doesn't see often. That apple shell above looks great! If you have the skills to build one I'd love to see it happen.

crocoyes2

Reaction score