Acrolite/Supraphonic Question

sammy123

Reaction score
I need some help. So I ordered a what was listed as a 67 Supraphonic from guitar center and it looks like a Acro to me but I'm far from an expert...evidenced by the fact that I bought it.

Anyway. 8 bowtie lugs, not 10 imperial lugs. The Guitar Center "Vintage Team" says it is a Supraphonic from before they were marketed as such. I've never heard that before. Serial number looks like late 66 to me. Photos are attached. I can add more later. Drum sounds fantastic regardless. But I probably overpaid if it's an Acro.

What's the concesus on what this drum is?

Attachments

thin shell

DFO Master
Reaction score
It's an Acrolite. A very nice one. It uses the same exact shell as a Supra except it is punched for 8 instead of 10 lugs and is not chrome plated so there will be no difference in the bearing edge.

How much did you pay for it? Without knowing that we cannot tell you if you overpaid. Keystone bade Acrolites go for quite a bit these days.

sammy123

Reaction score
Thank you both. It's disturbing to think that this so called vintage team at GC is possibly peddling something incorrectly. Also it's annoying that the return on vintage items is 3 days. So I have to act fast. But I'll see what others have to add to the discussion.

sammy123

Reaction score
It's an Acrolite. A very nice one. It uses the same exact shell as a Supra except it is punched for 8 instead of 10 lugs and is not chrome plated so there will be no difference in the bearing edge.

How much did you pay for it? Without knowing that we cannot tell you if you overpaid. Keystone bade Acrolites go for quite a bit these days.
$349. So I feel I overpaid....for an Acrolite. The only reason I went for it is because I had a $100 gift card. It's in great condition though.

sammy123

Reaction score
>The Guitar Center "Vintage Team" says it is a Supraphonic from before they were marketed as such<

Ok...there's your first problem...a "Vintage Team" at GC?