Affordable Jazz Cymbals? Zildjian K Alternatives?

RustyNails

Reaction score
Hi there,

I'm new to jazz drumming and I'm looking to get some cymbals, mainly hi-hats and a ride to practice some bebop and swing grooves at home. I love the sound of Zildjian K cymbals, but they're super expensive, even used. I'm not gigging, just playing alone in my room, so I don't need anything fancy, but I would like some cymbals that don't sound like crap for jazz either.

Mongrel

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Used Zildjian As.

Pre 1975 (or there abouts) certain models made after the 2013 update.

May not be good enough for a purist but the right weights and a piece of gaffer’s tape or two you’ll be fine “in your room”.

Thinking most anything else will either cost your more or not be up to the task (i.e. mid and lower level cymbals).

Old Dog

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Rusty, these are a very "not well-known" brand. But, Trinity cymbals might be an option for you. There are audio clips attached to nearly every cymbal.

IGNORE the Black Friday sale. :scratch: They don't update their website nearly enough. But the prices are normal.

Not sure about your budget.

I bought one of their "dark" crashes. Very light, great sounds, I did get it cheap while it was on sale. . .but these may work for you. Doesn't hurt to give a listen.

egw

Reaction score

Mongrel

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
PERFECT

Good eye....

Griener

Reaction score
Don't look any further.
These are amazing cymbals for a very affordable price.
Not too many people know about them.
For an old K. Zildjian sound, check their Holy Grail series.
if you're more into old Avedis, Mersey Beat is what you need to get.
And if you happen to like old Paiste 602's, you need to check their Leon Collection.

I'm no endorser, but I started to play them exclusively and sold my Spizzichino and several EAK's and old K's.
I did get them from Todd Bishop who will pre-select cymbals for you with great taste.