ANSWERED Vintage Sonor tom tom ID

lougrassi

Reaction score
I believe this Sonor 9x13 tom is a Sonor Centenial Phonic from the early to mid 1970's. Can anyone confirm or tell me I've mis identified it? Thanks.
IMG_0254.jpg
IMG_0255.jpg
IMG_0256.jpg
IMG_0257.jpg

lougrassi

Reaction score
Hi Frank,
A lovely thought, but not an answer to my question. Are you sure it went where you intended? Or did someone named Joe intend this for you? I'm pretty new at using drum forum and a bit confused.
Best wishes, Lou

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hi Frank,
A lovely thought, but not an answer to my question. Are you sure it went where you intended? Or did someone named Joe intend this for you? I'm pretty new at using drum forum and a bit confused.
Best wishes, Lou
I'm "Calling" Frank for you Lou... He's (one of) the "Resident" Sonor experts..
You will know exactly where who how when the circumstances involved in the manufacture..Soon! : ) Hang on : )

franke

DFO Star
Reaction score
Methinks that's a "peeled and oiled" Phonic. Sonor kept the "boat tail" brackets well into the late seventies/early eighties.

Frank Godiva

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I believe this Sonor 9x13 tom is a Sonor Centenial Phonic from the early to mid 1970's. Can anyone confirm or tell me I've mis identified it? Thanks. View attachment 488305 View attachment 488306 View attachment 488307 View attachment 488308
Lou welcome to the forum. You got a rare one there.

Up until 83, all Sonor drums were made from beech. The outside of your drum is beech, you can tell by your pic with the badge. See all those numerous vertical brown marks running in the grain? Tell tale sign of Sonor beech.

Ok to franke’s point, has it been stripped and refinished? The numbers would say it was because 9 out of 10 drums that show up as beech have been stripped.