Anybody try out the HHX Complex series?

febtiger

Reaction score
I've really enjoyed how these have sound online, most of my local stores don't have them in yet. I think they sound pretty great, but all of my cymbals have multiple holes in them now and these don't... maybe I'll finally own cymbals without a bunch of holes again. I really like that 19" crash in particular

febtiger

Reaction score
I did.
I picked up 17,18,19 crashes.
Sent them all back.
There is a shrillness to them that is unpleasant.
They quit way too soon ... they do not have a complete crash.
Again, I have no in person experience but I thought they were a little bit darker in sound... sad to hear they are shrill.
What cymbals would you recommend instead of these?

Mcjnic

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
They are dark.
The shrillness is that metallic din that sometimes comes through with Sabian cymbals. I do not prefer it. Some do not have it.
But more importantly, they quit way too soon.
The thinness of the cymbal does not allow it to act like a crash ... it is more like a pop.
But these are all unique cymbals.
Your selection might be better.

The more recent HH cymbals are not like their older HH cymbals.
They do not express themselves well at all.
Stick hits it ... it gives a bit of an incomplete metallic sound and then dies almost immediately.
I do not prefer the “new” hammering of the cymbals.
More is usually better ... but it is not better in this case.

Last edited:

Soulfinger

Reaction score
Funny - I have the complete opposite experience.

After all the commotion about the new logo I figured I´d give Sabian one more try and ordered the HHX Complex Performance set a week ago. 15"/19"/22".
I have to say I´m blown away by these cymbals. They have a rich, lush, warm and, erm, complex sound that really speaks to me. None of that "metallic din" mentioned above (which I too have experiencend in Sabians recently, especially the "Remastered HH" series).