Anyone does recording and music production at home? (Bedroom studio)

Jazzhead

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I am new to this and have plans in future to setup a little recording and music production station for me at home. I need to buy a laptop soon and want to spec it out to be able to use for my usual work, studies, and travel but also music recording and production. I want to go with a Macbook because of the longevity and consistent performance I have seen from Apple products over PC.
if you are doing recordings and production, what laptop specs do you have and what specs would you recommend for this purpose? Of course I can spend $2-3k on a laptop and get a monster laptop but I just want something that just can handle this, doesn’t need to be the best one out there, maybe the least required specs or something slightly more capable.
Many thanks in advance!

Targalx

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Yes. I do a lot of home recording on a reasonably tight budget. I’m primarily running a MacBook Air from 2013, 8GB RAM and 500GB internal SSD. The machine gets pretty stressed out if I run a lot of tracks. I think it’s just because it’s old and worn out from several years of constant use.

I have a newer computer, a MacBook Pro, which I bought in Dec. 2018, that I occasionally use for recording. This one has 16GB of RAM and a 500GB internal SSD. I also opted for the more advanced processor, I can’t remember what that option was right now. I’m running the latest version of Logic Pro X on both laptops.

I also have a few external SSDs that I use specifically for recording purposes.

My interfaces are either a Focusrite Scarlett 2i2, if I’m doing things like vocals, guitar, or bass. My drum interface is a Focusrite Scarlett 18i20.

Jazzhead

Very well Known Member
Reaction score