Anyone try the Evans Black Chrome heads?

Appleseed

Reaction score
Anyone else try out the Evans Black Chrome heads? They were suggested to me because I like a VERY dark sound (and black). This is the first time I've changed a set of tom heads and I'm having a hard time tuning them low enough. Tuned them up, tuned them down, tuned them up, tuned them down. After a few hours of experimenting I finally got them to a sound that is somewhat pleasing but there's a bit of ripples in the heads...this is bad, right??? Will it do any damage?

I should note that there is currently no reso heads on my toms. I was going to try and keep the factory resos on there for now but they sounded so terrible. They had actually put batters on the underside of the drum! Any suggestions for a good match to the Black Chromes? I want a dark yet booming sound.

I should also note my Yamaha Stage Custom is made of Philippines mahogany and birch. I'm still learning about woods.

Thank you in advance for your advice!

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Black Chromes on any kit I've used em on sounded killer. They sound especially nice on Bubinga kits, or BB's.
If you play them too lose they do pit easy though. You said you have no reso, but you're going to put them on?
Wait until you get reso heads on there, before playing (suggestion). I'm not sure how I'd be able to tune a drum w/out a reso, unless it was a concert tom, or something?
But yeah, don't play them that loose, or you'll ruin them.

Appleseed

Reaction score
Black Chromes on any kit I've used em on sounded killer. They sound especially nice on Bubinga kits, or BB's.
If you play them too lose they do pit easy though. You said you have no reso, but you're going to put them on?
Wait until you get reso heads on there, before playing (suggestion). I'm not sure how I'd be able to tune a drum w/out a reso, unless it was a concert tom, or something?
But yeah, don't play them that loose, or you'll ruin them.