Asking opinions on an early slide technique

Devourly

Reaction score
Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum and I was hoping I could get some feedback on my technique. I recently started playing again after a nearly decade long hiatus. I fell back into the groove and feel of playing drums easily enough, but my bass drum work is definitely my weakest aspect.

When I played back in high school, I used to be pretty quick. I could play short bursts at high speeds. I always had the problem of leaning forward if I tried to go any longer and I'd lose my balance. So now I'm trying to put the same level of attention to drumming as I did to guitar. I'd like to learn how to do some long double bass runs. I also want to get reacquainted with the ability to throw in quick flams around a beat. The type of music I'd like to play is probably similar to Avenged Sevenfold from the White Album to Nightmare. Nothing absolutely crazy like 250 tempos playing 16ths. Just be able to play moderately metal drums with a punk attitude. Best way I can think to describe it. Some double bass runs at no more than 160 ish probably, and some double fills and flams. The chorus for the song Nightmare is 16ths at 130 bpm I think. Steady groove. That's my goal for now. Being able to push to 160 ish.

This is a quick video of my early slide technique.

I realized that years ago, I used to play doubles in a similar way. The same way you slide to achieve two hits, I was simply keeping my foot in the same spot. I could feel the rebound of the pedal, the cycle of motion. Starting with my toe on the pedal, I lifted off the pedal then I would snap my toe down and then replant my toe in the starting position. You have to time the cycle right but you can get two hits pretty effortlessly. However, I would fatigue fairly easily leading me to think there's a more efficient way.