Audix Micro-D Mics

DanRH

Old guy, getting younger
Reaction score
Hey All,

Well after losing my beloved mic bag with my five Shure Beta 98's (ouch), I bit the bullet and decided to try a less expensive mic. After all, we play clubs and casuals for criminey sake! I've read some good reviews on them. I've been recently using my gtr players Sennheiser 421's (fine mics of course, but wayyy too bulky). I'd gotten used to the clips of the Shures onto the drums rim.

The Audix Micro-D's fit that bill. Small condenser mics. The mic is preconnected to its cable so that is one less thing to go bad I guess. So, what's included is the mic and cable, the mount, and foam and a small transducer that connects to an XLR cable.

The sound is very similar to the Shure's. I'm no techie but I could hear no difference in sound. The best thing is I picked them up new for $159 each (I bought three). The Shures go for $199 at their cheapest price.

Lugwid

User of Agop Cymbals!
Reaction score
I prefer the micro D over the shures. I like the shures for their tour ready build but anything is tour ready if you take care of it. I have used these quite a bit and like them they are light and unobtrusive, their sound is full and honest too.

Man, dan you have green sparkles now? Wow, I must really be busy at this new job!

DanRH

Old guy, getting younger
Reaction score
Lugwid said:
I prefer the micro D over the shures. I like the shures for their tour ready build but anything is tour ready if you take care of it. I have used these quite a bit and like them they are light and unobtrusive, their sound is full and honest too.

Man, dan you have green sparkles now? Wow, I must really be busy at this new job!
Yeah, I couldn't resist Mike Fry's offer. Sold my Fibes kit to do it.

HHammerHeadD

DFO Veteran
Reaction score