Basswood, poplar, and lauan shells

David M Scott

Reaction score
It seems that many here are convinced that Basswood and Poplar are used on only the very low end kits. While I'm sure that they are in many cases, in my experience they are superior to Lauan/Asian Mahogany. Having been in "the commercial wood business" for 40 years plus being a drummer I have a reasonable knowledge of types. There is a standard testing system for wood hardness called "Janka"
The test consists of pressing a .444 inch steel ball into a block of test wood so that the ball sinks to 1/2 it's diameter. They higher the number the harder the wood. So here are the numbers:
Basswood 410
Poplar 540
Lauan 800
So if one were to go by hardness alone then Lauan would be the winner by far.
Yet L

Tornado

DFO Master
Reaction score
There's way more to a kit than the wood. You can absolutely make a nice expensive high end kit out of these. C&C does with lauan. However, it doesn't make sense to make a low end kit out of expensive wood like North American maple. So if you're selling a low end kit, it's always going to be made with the lowest cost materials.

Frank Godiva

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Sonors take from the 1987 catalog; the maple numbers have been disputed over the years cause they used an Italian maple sample for the test rather then a North American rock maple variety which is more commonly used

8A476BA0-FC38-49A4-B5EA-4276E6CE8341.jpeg

David M Scott

Reaction score
It seems that many here are convinced that Basswood and Poplar are used on only the very low end kits. While I'm sure that they are in many cases, in my experience they are superior to Lauan/Asian Mahogany. Having been in "the commercial wood business" for 40 years plus being a drummer I have a reasonable knowledge of types. There is a standard testing system for wood hardness called "Janka"