Before there was Bonham.. Before there was Ringo. This was the drummer that many drummers loved.

bernard

Reaction score
In this video he speaks about how Jon Bonham
drove himself crazy trying to figure out one of his songs...

Fun video, thanks for sharing that (love the other drummer, just filling in for Sandy's left leg). I hope I will still think it is that fun to play the drums (and be goo enough to be allowed to do it) at his age!

orvilleb

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Sandy was one of my earliest drumming influences back in the ‘60s. Didn’t realize that he lost his right foot and part of the leg in a motorcycle accident in ‘63. Incredible how he continued to play through it. I guess that resolved the question of playing heel up or down on the bass drum.

rhythmace

Rhythmace
Reaction score
I have to tell this story again. In '65 I got to do a drum solo (part of a stage band assembly) in front of the whole high school. I started playing a solo and the stage band walked away. (We had seen Sonny Payne do it with Basie the year before and I copied all I could.) At one point I went into the "Teen Beat" thing rather softly. I heard a couple of scoffs from the student body. Then I suddenly added very loud off beat rim shots (playing a Super Sensitive) and it added a modern rock aspect suddenly. It got a big round of applause. Then I added some double bass drum ( on one bass drum) punches, which was a new thing at the time. (I used the bass drum with the right hand) Big response again. When the other members came back we ended with a stage band version of "Wipe Out" of course. Our traditional stage band then started doing rock songs at basketball games and other concerts. The drum solo was always requested and, of course, I was famous doing the right thing at the right time and got all the girls. I had to get over shyness about playing that "junk" drumming that I had done for the fun of it in my basement. Hey, Jake Hanna, Buddy or Joe would never play that