Beginner's Qs: Have a kit, now what... (Recommended YouTube channels, avoiding injury)

Reaction score
Hi all. New here.

Early 30s, used to listen to lots of punk / grunge sort of stuff and film my friends' bands when we were in school, but enjoy most things really (except for "electro swing" which we can launch off to Mars on the next rocket). Few examples: PJ Harvey, Satchel (Shawn Smith), Tool, UK garage, Joanna Sternberg, The Band, Me First and the Gimme Gimmes, Zutomayo, Lauryn Hill etc. Mostly popular stuff, but need to expand my horizons.

Picked up a second-hand Tama Silverstar complete kit (photos below from the eBay listing), some 5A sticks and 3M ear defenders, and just wanted to ask a few questions about the next steps:

1. Places to learn: Are there any particularly good YouTube channels or Instagram pages I should investigate?
2. Any tips for complete beginners with technique etc?
3. Health and avoiding injury: Should I be thinking about something more than getting up every once in a while to walk around, and keeping a good posture? For example: Common injuries, stretches, warm ups etc?
4. I think I have everything apart from something to sit on (looking at the round Sonor DT 4000 or standard Roc N Soc "bicycle" style seat - both about the same price). Oh and maybe a metronome.

Feel free to share a link with some of your favourite drumming to assist me with some avenues to explore. Here's something from me:

Thank you <3

https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/8SoAAOSwDYJgHDep/s-l1600.jpg
https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/c94AAOSwVJBgHDeu/s-l1600.jpg

Last edited:

Johnny K

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Congrats and welcome. I was where you are now a few years ago. After 30 years of guitar I wanted a new challenge.

Here is what I did, done and still do.