Best Real Feel, Tunable Elect. Drums

Bluest

Reaction score
Hello and cheers to all at Drumforum. Thank you for letting me in here. I am a professional drummer and music teacher from Massachusetts, US. I play a DW kit, and a Premier Signia kit as well. I live for drumming and love the job so much.

I am super interested in finding a brand / model of electronic drums that will allow me to play any number of kits and samples in Logic Pro X. I use a Roland V Drums kit at one of my teaching jobs... it's mostly those hard rubber pads; the snare is a tunable mesh kind. I am not thrilled with either of these.

Disregarding the noise issue... I understand they would be louder... I hope to get some advice and examples from you guys of electronic drums with actual real feeling heads. I picture almost with the tension and bounce of a timbale. Diameter is not a big deal; I'm okay if they are only 8" or 10". I also don't need a lot of them, but kick, snare, floor tom... maybe one cymbal as well. I am most concerned to find something that is tunable, with bounce and real feel similar to an actual drum. I realize I can put triggers on my acoustic drums... that wouldn't suit my purpose. I want to find electronic MIDI drums that bounce and feel real, because the heads essentially are real... if there is such a thing. What about Alesis 'RealFeel' drums?

The brain / module doesn't matter that much to me. I just need something to manage the multiple inputs from the pads and route it to my computer. Thank you guys so much, sincerely, for any replies or help.

Frank Godiva

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Unfortunately a tall order. The Yamaha DTX silicone pads offer another type of feel, but they are not tunable.

You have hit on a major shortcoming around electronic drums IMHO, the lack of true feel and nuance fails to develop and maintain the technique required to play acoustic drums well.