Building a marching snare drum

steppenwolph

Reaction score
Hello everyone! Total newb drum builder here. I am planning a build for a marching snare drum. I plan to keep it simple. Start with a Keller shell, 14" diameter and 12" deep. Stain the shell, put a marine grade poly on it. Add the hardware, install the heads and BAM! A drum! I am an experienced woodworker, so laying out a set of precision holes for hardware and drilling those holes is not an issue. Neither is finishing. But never having made a drum before (except out of an oatmeal container) I get the feeling there's stuff I don't know that could pose problems during the build. Also, I have questions!
How do I attach a sling?
How many plies do I want in my shell? Planning on a Keller Magnum shell.
Are there some design considerations I should look at before committing to the dimensions of 12" x 14"?
And snare beds! Most places I've looked, they won't cut snare beds on a shell as deep as I want! How to do this myself?
I can't wait to start banging on this thing

steppenwolph

Reaction score
This is the hardware I am considering, from Daville Drum Works
Snare Drum Hardware Package 10 Lug
Choose Chrome or Black Nickel: Chrome
Lug Selection (Includes gaskets): Arch2 Single End Lug Tom - $25.00
Mounting Screw Length: Shells up to 1/2"
Snare Strainer and Butt Combo (includes screws): Arch Throw /Butt Combo (CHROME ONLY) - $33.00
Tension Rods: I'll note my shell height in comment box - send length I need
Hoops (pair or set): 14" Triple Flange 2.3mm 10 Hole Snare Set
Snare Wires: 14" Puresound 20 Strand Blasters - $4.00
Add Evans Batter/Snare Drum Head Set: 14" G1 Coated Batter / 300 Snare Side - $26.00

multijd

DFO Veteran
Reaction score