Catching less Cymbal Bleed in overheads for compression and overall mix

vice2.0

Reaction score
Hey guys! First post here but am definitely willing to learn!

I'm a guitarist by trade but love recording and drum sounds. They're such an integral part of the mix. I want to get a good set of overheads as I know they're the key to a tight and big drum sound. I have a few sets in mind and have mid priced budget (800- 1.5k)

My question is are there certain techniques or mics that will pick up less cymbal and more of the kit? I watch vids a lot and hear LOTS of variance in results on overheads.
When it comes to recording & compressing the overheads, should the drummer lay into the cymbals less if we know overheads will be a big part of the sound?
Are there certain mics or techniques to pick up less of the cymbals?
What's the first step? Do I get warmer overheads, them pointed in certain patterns or a drummer who understands how to play to the mics?

I hear great mixes sometimes with just overheads and 2 other mics. Other times I hear overheads and ALL I hear us cymbal wash.

Where do I start?

Tornado

DFO Master
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
In my home recording experience (I assume you're recording at home) , it's mostly playing with the right touch on the cymbals. If you play the drums loud and go easy on the cymbals, you're mostly there. Mic placement can be a big deal too. Spend the time to get placement right. Other factors are cymbal choices and room treatment. The drummer really needs to play for the room and the mics above all else, especially in a home environment with sub-optimal acoustics.

Expensive mics are nice, but great drummers and great engineers will get great results without them.

Pat A Flafla

Very well Known Member
Reaction score