Commissioning Custom Cymbals

TPC

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
So I was going to post a thread about a new cymbal that I have coming in the next week or so from Matt Nolan.

Then, instead of just focusing on this one cymbal, I figured it'd be interesting to hear about others' stories regarding their experiences with ordering a custom cymbal, from the initial description of the sounds, to the cymbalsmith's process and how he/she interpreted your descriptions, and what techniques they used to achieve the sounds, etc.

I have a handful of Matt's cymbals. I love them. A lot. This latest commission is a 24" thin swish to compliment the other Nolan’s I have. This was my third commission from Matt, so my request was simple: 24", thin, swish, rivets. Matt took it from there. Matt is a very busy man, so the lead time on this was fairly long, but it's finally coming together and I couldn't be more excited.

Nolan 24 swish 2.jpg

Nolan 24 swish 1.jpg

20220717_210749.jpg

20220717_214120.jpg

Let's hear about yours. Thanks

Last edited:

jmele2

Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
looks beautiful! I've had a number of my cymbals modded by Jesse Simpson when he lived in Bklyn and am very impressed with the black art of metallurgy!

Can't wait to hear some video of that china

Reactions: TPC

owr

Very well Known Member
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Beautiful Tom, one of these days we need to have a bay area hang, and I want to check out that swish when its done!