Competition in my neighborhood!

Rock Salad

Very well Known Member
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
My next door neighbor has just got a kit! He's good too, learned properly in school and everything. First time I heard him he had got the kit for only a couple of days and was jamming Steely Dan songs with the fills!

I'm not giving up though, just keeping me humble (like I needed him for that lol)

There's a r&b band over on the block East, bluegrass pickers around the corner to the North and a church band with sound system somewhere near too

Deafmoon

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Hey that's a good thing! When I started playing I had a drummer move into my neighborhood in the Bronx that was 7 years older than me. He turned me on to every jazz drummer in the world. The very first albums I owned were Buddy Rich, Tony Williams, Gene Krupa and Max Roach. I had their stuff before I ever got into the far more popular albums of the day back in 1972. As Roch said, "Go and cop some of his chops".

drummer5359

DFO Veteran
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
That is very cool, and never a bad thing.

About seven years ago my wife and I were walking around the block with a dog that we had recently rescued. A young woman who had just moved in came out to the sidewalk to meet our pooch. After introductions, she noticed I was wearing a Zildjian shirt. "You're are a drummer?! My husband plays!"

The four of us became very good friends. Mark is a jazz cat, plays a jazz sized set of Gretsch Renown drums. We have been jamming together since we met. And yes, we steal chops from each other whenever we can. :D

Targalx

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
I absolutely love hearing someone practicing their instrument (especially drums) in the neighborhood. (Even if it is bagpipes!) Just knowing that there are other musicians nearby is a nice, familiar feeling to me.