Complete Newb question

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I got a Focusrite 18i20.
It comes with a bundle of free DAW, and plug ins.
Can i record a drum kit with Pro Tools first?
Could anyone suggest a free DAW that will, if Pro Tools first doesn't. User friendly is a huge plus.
I use PC.
Thanks

electrodrummer

Reaction score
I've been using Cakewalk for aeons. It's now free. So that's an option.

But, yes, you can use Pro Tools.

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Thank you! I'll try Cakewalk, as the title makes it seem easy. Before i go drop some $, i do want to try Pro tools, to see if i like it.
Do you know of any video editing software with the same criteria?

gbow

Reaction score
Thank you! I'll try Cakewalk, as the title makes it seem easy. Before i go drop some $, i do want to try Pro tools, to see if i like it.
Do you know of any video editing software with the same criteria?
Protools is quite possibly the least user friendly DAW you'll find. Cakewalk is a good option, as is Reaper and Studio One Pro. Cakewalk is free, Reaper is $60, and Studio One Pro is a bit higher.

As for video editing, take a look at Powerdirector, it's about the most full featured at a reasonable price point.

gabo

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Thanks!
I actually have been looking at Studio One Pro.
It seems like the best bang for the buck. It's on sale for $270. That's a whole lot cheaper than Pro Tools.
I'm just wondering about the plug ins, and updates.
I can't wait for my kits to sound like my kits.
I'd like to be able to run 3 cameras for my video editing.

gbow

Reaction score
Thanks!
I actually have been looking at Studio One Pro.
It seems like the best bang for the buck. It's on sale for $270. That's a whole lot cheaper than Pro Tools.
I'm just wondering about the plug ins, and updates.
I can't wait for my kits to sound like my kits.
I'd like to be able to run 3 cameras for my video editing.