Complete newbie to electronic drums. Start up help?

nmosko

Reaction score
Hey everyone! Been an acoustic guy for close to 2 decades but I’ve really started to become interested in electronic drums. Basically, I just want to know if my line of thinking here is correct. In order to trigger my acoustic set I would need to do the following:

-purchase 4 triggers (ddrum, Roland, etc.) for each of my 4 drums.
- purchase a module that has at least 4 inputs.
- plug the triggers into the module along with headphones.
- bam! I can play my drums and hear the sounds from the module whenever I hit my drums with the triggers.

I’m not interested in taking any electronics out of the house. At least not yet. I just want to be able to play at home with all of the cool electronic sounds. Maybe even put mesh heads on my acoustic kit in order to mute the shells.

is setting up an electronic component as simple as I’m making it out? Or is there a lot of other pieces and factors I’m completely missing?

thanks you all SO MUCH!!!!

electrodrummer

Reaction score
-purchase 4 triggers (ddrum, Roland, etc.) for each of my 4 drums.
- purchase a module that has at least 4 inputs.
- plug the triggers into the module along with headphones.
- bam! I can play my drums and hear the sounds from the module whenever I hit my drums with the triggers.
Basically, yes.

triggers are generally just £1/$1 piezos.

Stick those on anything - even a brick - and when they pick up a vibe a voltage is generated.

The module picks up the voltage and fires a sound.

and/OR

You could just buy a Yamaha EAD10 if you wanna play with electronics. Use that as an electro/acoustic crossover. Mics to pick up and process acoustic sounds, with trigger inputs to fire off any other sound you like.

nmosko

Reaction score
Basically, yes.

triggers are generally just £1/$1 piezos.

Stick those on anything - even a brick - and when they pick up a vibe a voltage is generated.

The module picks up the voltage and fires a sound.