header.nohb.html

Cymbal Advice

remhed

Reaction score
I know it’s a highly personal thing, but I’m hoping to get some advice on what cymbals to buy. I am a hobbyist, not a pro. I play in a local band here in Indy and we play a Replacements/BoDeans/Gaslight Anthem style of Americana (here’s a video from a recent show if you’re interested
). My current cymbal set up is 14”HHX Evolution hi-hats; 15” and 16” Paiste Signature Fast Crashes; an 8” AAX China/splash; and a 22” Zildian A ride (forget the exact model).

Overall I am happy with this arrangement. I have been thinking about replacing the ride for a while- it doesn't have the bell definition I’d like and I’d like to be able to ride the edge and get a better washy sound like you hear in a lot of modern rock music (like Gaslight Anthem).

Problem I currently have is both of my Paiste crashes are cracked. I have had them for probably 8+ years so I have gotten good use out of them. I have thought about just replacing them with the same models, but they are very pricey and I’m concerned that my playing style is a bit too rough / hard for these cymbals.

When I go to the local GC or Sam Ash (they have the best selection of cymbals in my area), I am still drawn to the Paiste Signatures, but when I listen to sound clips on line I like a lot of the Sabian AA and AAX crashes.

I see a lot of guys on the forum buy cymbals on Craig’s List or eBay but I don’t know enough about all the nuances between the different brands and models to be able to do that with any confidence.

So any general (or specific) advice anyone would like to give me?

Last edited by a moderator:

Jim Hodgson

Advanced Forum Guru
Reaction score
First off, very nice playing ... good sounds all around!