Cymbal Durability

Toast Tee

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I'm sure this topic has come up before, but I can't find a thread dedicated to it, so maybe I can get some answers, opinions, experience........
Maybe it can save some of us a few bucks one day?

What cymbals are most durable, and why do you think/know? Any brand?, alloy... B20, B14, B8......?

From what I've gathered in my time as a member here, and from what I've read, thinner cymbals are less likely to crack. Thinner cymbals have more give, and less stiff. That makes sence. Now, what if the thinner cymbals have a flea bite? Will the flexibility work against it?

I would think thin cymbal, that has a flea bite would have the best chance to end up cracked, as it's going to flex quite a bit more, and the small edge dings would be more suseptable to "tearing"

Mongrel

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Cymbals that are played properly are least likely to crack....

I have a cymbal from the 50s with at least two MAJOR "flea bites"...it is cracked in the bow. I have owned this cymbal since 1978. The flea bites were there when I bought it. The crack was not. As a young, untaught and stupid kid I used to beat the pizz out of that cymbal trying to keep up with an idiot with an Ampeg V4 cranked to '11'. I am not a pro by any stretch, but I have not cracked a cymbal since sometime in the 80s, and I have cymbals that I use from the 60s and 70s on a regular basis.

The only cymbals that "cracked" in my possession were cymbals that were abused, not played properly and pushed beyond what anyone should reasonably expect them to endure. NOT saying you can't get a 'bad' cymbal that may crack when played properly, just saying this has been *my* experience.