Cymbal oxidation

Esotericdrums

Reaction score
I recently moved into a new house about 2 years ago. I’ve noticed since the move that some of my older cymbals are developing patina/green oxidation quicker than I have seen in the past. I’ve got a small stamp A that has started to turn very green underneath over the last year. And some other green spots popping up on newer k customs...

is there something that could be making my cymbals turn faster?

before the move I was gigging 3 or 4 times a week so most my cymbals stayed in cymbal bag unless they were on the kit being played at a gig. Where as now I have my kit set up and cymbals out all the time and the rest of them leaning against the wall.

could it just be that they are more exposed being out now instead of in my gig bag?

Esotericdrums

Reaction score
I’m not big on cleaning cymbals but also don’t want the green on my old small stamp to get out of hand

CSR

Member since May 2000
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
Did you move near the ocean or where there is a lot of salt air? The drum set that Buddy Rich left Johnny Carson started to rust and the cymbals turned green because Johnny lived near the ocean.

sixplymaple

Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
Is everything in a temperature controlled room? Is your new house closer to the ocean? I know that salty air will do it for sure...

If that’s the case, I’d try getting some large Space Saver bags and keeping everything you aren’t using stored air tight. Idk what to do about cymbals mounted on your kit though.

Hop

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Storage in a bag (covered by the bag directly/covered by other cymbals) will reduce some of the exposure that your experiencing now that they're seeing more time on the stand.
Does your new home seem to have more moisture/humidity than the old place?

Esotericdrums

Reaction score
There may be some moisture in the air?