Dark Big Band/Jazz ride around 400USD?

Reaction score
It’s an honour to finally be a part of this amazing community of fellow drummers.
I would love to have your suggestions on picking a new ride cymbal that suits my musical tastes which ranges from Jazz to a bit of Big Band and Funk.

A cymbal with more ping, a little wash and mostly a quick decay along with a medium to high pitch is what I have in mind. Being a college student, I have a budget of 400USD for this purchase.

I considered the Zildjian K Custom Medium Ride 20” after researching its samples from Soundcloud and YouTube.
Although, I am a bit doubtful of the strength of its wash.

I would extremely appreciate models from the larger “well known” brands (Zildjian, Sabian etc.) as it is tough for me to source others in my country, India.
I have also received other suggestions such as:
• Zildjian A Custom 21” 20th Anniversary
•Sabian HH Duo 21”
•Paiste Signature Mellow 20”
•Sabian FRX 20”
I apologise for any lack of detail or error I might have made.
Thank you all.

Seb77

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
Shorter sustain makes me think unlathed, as you probably do yourself.
What would you think of the K 21" Dark Complex? sound sample from this thread: https://www.drumforum.org/threads/a-bajillion-zildjians-ks-k-customs-a-customs-as.171772
Not mine, but I like this quite a bit: http://dongunn.com/audio/for_sale/K-21DarkComplexRide.wav

The typical Sabian Duo ride might be too thin, with not enough stick for louder big band/funk. I'm not that familiar with other Sabian offerings. As for Zildjians, there's the K Organic or High Definition rides.