Decent speakers for Electronic drums?

reabtima

Reaction score
Total beginner here,
I would like to connect some speakers to my Roland TD-1 set, i tried plugin-in an old guitar amp and it sounds HORRIBLE - especially the bass and the Hi-Hat (The sound of the stick hitting the rubber is much stronger then the sound the amp is letting out).
Are there any low priced speakers (Even PC/portable/non-amp speakers/ANYTHING) that will do a decent job at this?
I basically just want to jam with some friends so i need the minimal thing that would work

Thanks

electrodrummer

Reaction score
This is asked every day on every drum forum :)

A PA is the answer.

If you want to buy your own, and your band or venue doesn't have one:
Min 12" woofers. Speakers on stands, tweeters at ear height. Plenty of cost-effective options 2nd hand in the world if you want to save money, (don't know what you are - you didn't say).

LBCD

Reaction score
I run a small Mackie Mix5 into 2 Mackie powered 12” speakers. Just make sure to keep the input power on the speakers below unity.
And for bigger gigs a Yamaha powered mixer into 2 ea Yamaha 15” cabs.

jazzerone

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
You asked "Are there any low priced speakers (Even PC/portable/non-amp speakers/ANYTHING) that will do a decent job at this?"

No. There are not. Anything that fits the criteria you just described will sound like crap.

The problem with amping an e-kit is that you're trying to reproduce a really wide range of sounds, from the low end thud of the bass drum to the high end of a crash cymbal. Most amps are designed to do something within a specific range of those frequencies, but very few cover everything, and if they do they're expensive. That's why you're being told to run it through your PA, which comes off a board, which has the ability to dial in highs and lows.