Detuning only some lugs???

MVE

Reaction score
Just watched a video by Nick V at SW where he suggests detuning three lugs on a tight snare to give it a different less overtone sound.
I am new to drums, so please forgive the noob question. But it seems like having drastically uneven tension might be potentially damaging to the drum head or the drum itself, especially a wood shell.
Am I crazy or is it a bad idea? Or maybe its ok for a bit of time, but even them back up when you’re done kind of thing?

TPC

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I do this sometimes. It can provide a certain proportion of attack, pitch, and sustain that is unobtainable with even tensioning. I do think/agree though, that if the tensions are too disparate, the head will wrinkle and that could certainly cause some damage.

My bass drum is almost always tensioned this way, with the top two lugs loosened up significantly.

LRod1707

DFO Master
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
If it's for overtone control, try a snareweight! I've seen this (detuning) method before and I personally don't like the idea of having lower tension on a few lugs. I like everything relatively equal. That's just me though!

Tornado

DFO Master
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
I think this sounds good sitting right above the snare and mic'd, but sounds thin out front if not mic'd. There are plenty of other ways to control overtones. This method can create a cool "electronic" sound if that's what you're going for though.

noreastbob

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
To my way of thinking it's a totally bogus cop-out method of... not tuning. It's not good for the action, the head, the drum, the hoop... you name it. And Tornado is right. Out front it sounds like a flimsy plastic slap if there's no mic.
If you must kill the natural overtones use damping. However, as bothersome as overtones can be to the player, out front they add cut, presence, and much of the crack and cool tones we love.

bernard