DiCenso? Holy Cow!

EvEnStEvEn

~Lounge Lizard~
Reaction score
How come nobody ever sat me down and made me check out this DiCenso guy before?
I mean, MY GAWD, he's like all my favorite drummers rolled into one.
It's been a total revelation watching these clips over the past couple days and I'm just getting started on this guy, wow.

From the 90s:

The 2000s:

Currently:

Nacci

DFO Master
Reaction score
I saw DiCenso at the CT. Drum Show three years back. I had no idea who he was, I don’t think a lot of people did because Rich Smith treated his intro like a biography but we sure knew who he was by the time he finished.

EvEnStEvEn

~Lounge Lizard~
Reaction score
Thing is, he's obviously got the incredible speed & fluidity thing , but then there's the masterful dynamics and musical taste in every nuance of his playing now.
Mind warping.

rhythmace

Rhythmace
Reaction score
Interesting thing is that his playing and breaks flow together. Very fresh ideas to me. I got to get that double foot thing down though. I like his technique. The sticking on the 6 stroke paradiddle thing is a lot like something that I have used in triplets made into sixteenth notes. Awesome guy. Ace

Burrish

Reaction score
The solo at 37:50 of that Drumeo vid is one of my favorite solos of all time and is utterly stellar. If you have six minutes, you owe it to yourself to watch.

In my eyes, Dave is *the* post-Weckl/Gadd player and is one of the only guys who truly did his own thing with those influences; you see the references, but it's only ever a hint and never a copy.

He has amazing chops/stickings, yes, but its integration into what he's doing musically is unparalleled. His early background is in heavy music, and I like that you're basically seeing the ultimate amalgam of Metal/Rock/Backbeat/Fusion. Yeah, this is utterly subjective, but in terms of free-form soloing, I'm trying to think of someone better. My favorite player of the last 15-20 and, to me, the ultimate drummer's drummer.