Do cymbals change in sound much over time / use

Tigerdrummer

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I've heard guitar players who claim a given guitar sounds better over time than when new. I wonder if any of you think a cymbal's sound evolves and improves with play assuming there arent modifications or build up of dirt etc. I'm not real experienced w drums so I'm just trying to learn. And I thought I'd ask. Thanks for any insights

JDA

DFO Master
Reaction score
They don't change much but some will fade into memory..or be eclipsed..
Over time, just not excited with certain ones anymore..
That element of discovery sometimes fades or reaches a saturation level.
I think that happens more often than not, than cymbal change in and of itself.
Sometimes takes 20 years or more to say hmm want to try something new..

Last edited:

Redbeard77

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I've been playing A Custom crashes for nearly 15 years and I swear they mellow with age. If you believe that the main part of cymbal aging is based on the vibration of the metal, then crashes should exhibit the most change, followed by rides. I guess hats would be affected more by patina.

Mcjnic

DFO Veteran
Reaction score
First ... yes. Absolutely various aspects of the sound changes.
As to “improves” ... totally subjective.

I’m with Redbeard. My A Custom crashes mellow out nicely. One of the best used cymbals I ever picked up was from a forum member here ... 16 Zildjian A Custom crash. It has mellowed beautifully. Love that crash.

Unfortunately, I have some that “relax” a bit too much. When I picked them up, I liked the front end attack. After a reasonable amount of breaking in, they no longer possess the aggressiveness I first enjoyed.
This happens from time to time.

I have found that Zildjian K Sweet crashes are very susceptible to this. I picked them up and they had a great front end attack with just enough sustain.