Do You Change Your Angles/Heights for Different Styles?

Neal Pert

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
I've been playing since I was 5 years old and I've always taken some pride in the idea that the exact angles and heights on my drums didn't matter a ton-- within reason, I was always able to make stuff work. And I'd do my jazz drumming with different angles and heights than my rock or pop drumming and all that.

These days, I'm starting to focus on really nailing the ergonomics and making everything consistent no matter what sort of music I'm playing. So, like, no matter what the heads or cymbals or tuning or sizes, that first mounted tom is always in the same location, throne is always at the same height, cymbals always at the same angle, the whole bit. If I'm playing on a bop kit with an 18" bass drum or some 13/16/22 kit, I'm basically playing things more or less where they always are. I think the next step is really marking the hardware with the right locations and heights so that all my gig set ups are the same. It seems to be really helping.

So, are you a person who uses multiple setups for different styles? If so, do you strive to keep the core stuff consistent, or do you approach the instrument differently?

EvEnStEvEn

~Lounge Lizard~
Reaction score
After I did a detailed study of my ergonomics for comfort and playing ease about 15 yrs. ago my setups have essentially stayed the same.
If I'm using forceful blows on my crashes like on a rock gig then I'll elevate the 2 crash stands a tad higher is all.

jtpaistegeist

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
Same as the others here. Years ago I spent a lot of time experimenting and setting things exactly how they feel comfy. My setups, regardless of size stay almost identical.

noreastbob

Very well Known Member
Reaction score
No. The only alterations are due to more or less pieces. Four piece, five piece, seven piece, lots of cymbals vs not so many...etc.

mebeatee

Reaction score
Yes and no.....