Do You Know Where Your Beat Is At?

Chayro

Reaction score
Back around 1980, I studied drums with a guy named Lynn Oliver, who ran these amazing jazz workshops on 89th Street and Broadway in NYC. Virtually all the NY players went through there at one time or another, and Lynn, a very talented multi-instrumentalist, transcribed hundreds of charts from Art Blakey, Horace Silver, George Shearing and numerous big bands. He played drums, piano, vibes, trombone. A real NY icon, and in addition to learning to play this great music, you learned to toughen up because he had no problem calling you out in front of everyone when you f'ked it up. Not as bad as Buddy or Whiplash, but you had to learn to accept criticism in front of other musicians. But I digress.

I was already playing for at least 10 years when I started studying privately with Lynn and I had already studied with some very good NY teachers, including Joe Cusatis. In my first lesson with him, we worked on finding the beat. He put the metronome on and asked me to to block out the sound of the metronome by clicking the sticks together and I was a little surprised at the outcome. I was consistently behind the metronome by just a drop, but I wasn't hearing the beat where it actually was. This was enlightening to me because a few times at gigs, we would start a tune and the leader would motion to me to pick it up a little. I eventually compensated by taking the countoff and mentally adding one click of the metronome to it. In other words, play just a hair faster than what I perceived the count to be and it worked out better. But eventually I learned to hear the beat where it actually was and I guess I was a better musician for it.

So maybe give it a try and see how you come out. Set the metronome to a tempo and block it out by hitting the sticks together. Try to keep it up for 30 seconds or so. Not so easy.
Be well my friends.

Tornado

DFO Veteran
Reaction score