Do you prefer Lacquer or Wrap for your kits and why?

Do you prefer Lacquer or Wrap

• Total voters

OldeEnglishD

Reaction score
Just curious about the overall view of the group here. I am relatively new to the drums and the 2 kits I have are both lacquer and as I don't play in a band I don't have to worry about the abuse they take at gigs. Please let me know your preferences and any pros/cons you see in each finish type.

JDA

DFO Star
Silver Supporting Member
Reaction score
lacquer.. because color doesn't matter on drums.
the abuse thing is not true; you're not going to abuse your drums whether finished in wrap or lacquer. 3) and if you're worried about your roadies throwing them in cases...well then you really have no worries or rather you have, other worries
3. the color of drums has nothing to do with playing
last time I checked
4) you Can't see the color from where we sit; they are all "remo" inside..(or pick your head brand)
6) Color matters to interior decorators
which I'm sure 6 or 7 will chime in soon.

Last edited:

drummer5359

DFO Veteran
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I voted wrap, even though I'm a lousy interior decorator.

My drums have traveled in Humes & Berg Enduro (or Enduro Pro) hard shell cases since 1996. As such, they stay in nice shape. That being said, the occasional scuff or scratch can happen. Wrapped drums just tend to hide them better. My 1975 Slingerland Blakrome kit looks like it did when I got it in 1992. (It had some minor wear when I bought it.) I had bags or fiber cases for every piece from day one. When the band I was in got really busy in 1996 I invested in good hard cases.

I bought H & B Enduro cases for my DW kit the same day that I bought it in 2008. It saw a lot of gigs between July of 2008 when I bought them and June of 2019 when my Gretsch USA Custom kit arrived. The DWs still look new today.